Days after a journalist claimed that Meta’s Muse app on Mac learn their non-public messages — a claim that Meta disputed — Apple introduced that it’s introducing further controls round a setting known as “Full Disk Entry” on macOS. The function was designed to permit backups to perform correctly, however AI brokers have now elevated “the dangers related to this stage of entry,” Apple mentioned.
Apple’s assertion comes shortly after Inc. columnist Jason Aten reported that Muse knew the content material of his non-public messages — regardless that he claimed to haven’t given the AI agent permission. The report raised questions in regards to the stage of safety and belief customers have in desktop-based AI, which may management issues on their techniques and browse their recordsdata and messages.
The choice to restrict the Mac function additionally comes after a Wired report cited {that a} flaw in ChatGPT’s Mac app may have allowed hackers to entry delicate information.
AI brokers that run on the desktop enable customers to offer their respective apps with larger entry to the recordsdata, messages, and different private content material on their computer systems by adjusting macOS settings.
In Muse’s case, the AI optionally permits customers to allow Full Disk Entry. This setting, Apple explains, offers an app permission to entry recordsdata, mail, messages, and even shopping historical past.
“Some builders are utilizing Full Disk Entry in ways in which may put customers in danger, exposing the whole lot on their techniques…with out customers’ full information and understanding,” Apple mentioned in a new blog post geared toward builders.
The corporate says that, going ahead, it’ll introduce new controls geared toward making certain that customers who “genuinely want to grant an app this extraordinary stage of entry” can achieve this solely with “very specific person motion.”
“Addressing that is vital. As AI brokers turn into more and more succesful and autonomous, the dangers related to this stage of entry will develop considerably. We’re dedicated to making sure customers clearly perceive these dangers earlier than granting such entry, to allow them to make knowledgeable choices about their very own information and privateness,” Apple wrote.
Apple didn’t reply to TechCrunch’s inquiry in regards to the function change.
If you buy by means of hyperlinks in our articles, we may earn a small commission. This doesn’t have an effect on our editorial independence.
